I am feeling anxious and nervous

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi I suffer from ocd and anxiety and have had it four five years im managing almost all of my ocd but there is one thing that i cant control and need to know ways to control it. I am a Football Referee and been doing it for four seasons now.

I started refereeing mens football about a season ago and since i started i have been getting extremely nervous and anxious before matches. I get really bad stomach and go a toilet at least four times before a match. If it is a morning game i wake up feeling really ill its like i must think about it in my sleep. If its a later game i will build up getting really anxious and nervous. How do i stop this nasty feeling

0 likes, 11 replies

11 Replies

• Posted

Hi.  Do you see a therapist at all or are you coping with this yourself?
    • Posted

I have had cbt for my ocd and im coping with that but this as its causing stomach aches and me not eating i cant seem to control. Have u got any ways of me stopping it and controlling it.
    • Posted

It might be worth having a look at some of the other types of therapy.  I'm a strong believer in keeping going until you find the right one for you.  Each one helps in its own way.  I suffer from a need to go to the toilet when I'm stressed and have found it important to try and keep the stress at bay. CBT is good at this as it gives you other ways of thinking about the situation, but you could also try Mindful Meditation.  It's a way of keeping your mind on what is happening right now rather than running away with thoughts about what might happen, or what you think is going to happen.  You might also be interested in researching EMDR if you don't already know about it.  It helps identify why you have anxiety issues in the first place and then helps you overcome that issue (that's a very simple way of describing it).  I found it very helpful.
    • Posted