I can't deal with work - how will I do this for the rest of my life?

Posted , 4 users are following.

I've struggled with depression and anxiety for around four years now, but the past two have been the worse.

Since finishing university and turning my part-time job into a full-time job, I've felt unable to cope. I have constant nightmares, problems with overeating, always tired, always anxious. I feel like I'm falling apart.

I'm going travelling for three months soon, but I can't imagine going back into full-time work or to the same workplace.

How to people with anxiety work? What do you do?

I'm a Graphic Designer/Web Developer and it's very hard to find a Part Time job, all I can think is that is finding somewhere I could work from home mostly. But I'm only three years into my career and an employer wouldn't be happy about that.

I do take medication for anxiety: Prozac & Beta Blockers, I've also tried CBT and counselling (both work for a few weeks), then I go back to my same ways.

0 likes, 4 replies

Report / Delete

4 Replies

• Posted

We've been discussing chamomile tea elsewhere, really seems to help some folks, others not so much. Check with your doc or pharmacist first to make sure it won't interfere with other meds you're taking, ask about L-theanine too. 

Have you talked to your employer about working from home more often? Don't let anxiety speak for them. 

How's your sleep? 

Report / Delete Reply
  • Posted

Hi,

i have posted similar concerns about the future and working.

i have just actually posted one!

The current feelings you have will not define you for the rest of your life.

from persnal experience you will have long periods of feeling well and occasional setbacks where you think "oh no it's back again"

accept that anxiety will always be part of us as it's just in our genetic makeup.however you can and will have sucessful career and future.

Report / Delete Reply
  • Posted