i have just been diagnosed with nerve pain. and not sure whether to take meds or not?

Posted , 8 users are following.

I am 31 and after suffering pains with my arms and leg been told I have nerve pain but they are unsure what has caused it. They have offered me a drug called Ami to help me sleep and take the edge of I have been told they can make you feel like a zombie? Anyone have any experience with this pain?

1 like, 15 replies

15 Replies

• Posted

Hi Debbie, is that ami as in Amitriptyline?
    • Posted

They have said I can try exercise etc but as I can't sleep at night they have said to try them see if it helps but I am new to this so unsure. If I take them does it get better or will I have to take them forever

• Posted

I take this to help me get to sleep on bad nights

• Posted

What are your side effects do you have nerve problems?
    • Posted

I dont have any side effects from the amitryptyline.  I have peripheral neuropathy worst in feet and legs but also now in hips and groin.  I cant take NSAID except in gel form.  I am reluctant to go on gabapentin as I am afraid of feeling sleepy a lot.  I also sometimes take soluble aspirin even though my doctor does not like me too - it can help on nights when the pain is there but not too bad.  I dont take the amitryptiline every night - only on bad nights.  My doctor said I dont need to take it every night unless I want to -  she will also up the dosage if it gets less effective.  I am very sensitive to medication so I try to take as little as possible.
  • Posted

Sorry, I asked about ami just to understand the full length /type of med it was. When I was in LA in 2010  ther prescribed me gabapentin for my leg pain. In the UU there are a few drugs that can be used on patients with the right physiology. Whilst their primary "known of news" is AD, they do an awesome job at reducing neuromuscular pain. My gags was awesome beyond no shadow of a doubt!!