I'm 21, have to get my gallbladder removed on 13th, can I fly to Bangkok on 24th of this month?

Posted , 6 users are following.

I'm 21 years old and I had been feeling strange abdominal and lower back pain since a week, but my condition got worse only two days back when I had high fever, vomiting and horrible back and shoulders pain. The doctor derived its a liver infection from the blood tests but also asked me to go for sonography. Sonography tests showed multiple stones in my gallbladder. So the doctor said I have to get my entire gal bladder removed. I can't think of a reason why this happened. Could it be my consumption of alcohol on weekends? Or me being low-weight? Or consumption of spicy and fried food lover the years? Please let me know in the comments below what you think. Anyway, I have been awaiting a Bangkok trip with my friends for two months now. Flight tickets, hotels are all booked and flights are non-refundable. Is it safe for me to go there for a week. (Bangkok and Pattaya) I will be eating outside food/ hotel food but would avoid spicy and greecy food and ofcourse, no consumption of alcohol at all. Please let me know what y'all think.

0 likes, 18 replies

18 Replies

Next
  • Posted

This is major surgery!  What are you thinking?  It will take your body up to 8 months to heal and adjust afterwards.  Travel during this time could lend up in a life threatening  situation. Your doctor should have mentioned this when your surgery was scheduled.  
    • Posted

Yeah you're right. I was driven away by the spirit of travelling by myself for the first time and didn't think about the problem I was facing at hand. I cancelled my tickets anyway. 8 months? Online I read a lazer laproscopy takes about 2 weeks to heal. I need to be able to go back to work within 2 weeks is all.

• Posted

Sorry I was so blunt.  Worried about you. Consider that besides healing, your body will need time to adjust to not having a gallbladder.  Two weeks is not correct.