I'm a young journalist covering human-rights and I love what I do. Why am I feeling depressed?

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hello all,

I am a 22 year old university graduate and I am a journalist in the early stages of my career covering human-rights, conflict and refugee issues. I am working with an artist on a project called Yesterday-Today-Tomorrow that invites refugees to draw their past, present and future lives. I am the Communications Manager for this project and I get to get a lot to new and exciting places. While it's currently a voluntary role, we are getting funding from the UN in the Summer, a salary for myself as a result. It can be emotionally tough work but I feel grateful to be able to work on this great project.

While waiting for funding to be more established I got a job as a waitress at a golf club and was under the impression it was 30 hours per week - as this was what I was told... in fact, it's zero-hour.... I have anxiety about starting new things often anyway so each day at first can be challenging but once I am there it's usually ok. Though in 6 weeks of employment I've had 3 shifts, mainly due to delay in putting me on the rota. I am fully flexible to work and my boss doesn't really try and equally share shifts. There are too many people employed. I feel confused and depressed because I, in theory, don't have a job.

I want to get better and recover from this by working more if I can - my shifts this week were cancelled due to lack of customers. Currently looking for other work at the moment.

Any advice?

1 like, 1 reply

1 Reply

• Posted