I think I am depressed but don't want to bother the doctors if I am not

Posted , 4 users are following.

Since, April I have not been feeling myself I have been feeling very isolated and like everything I do is an act. I went traveling with my friend and I felt guilty that I had to pretend I liked doing things that I usually would have loved but I was taking no enjoyment out of them. It was the same for social situations but I just felt like I couldn't act anymore and just spent the night being quite but other times it almost felt natural and I was back to my usual loud egomaniac self. I do not know if I am just worried about my future because I am studying a university course that I do not enjoy and I am letting that get me down. I cannot be optimistic about my future right now because I will probably get a rubbish degree so that won’t set me up for a good career and I am not sure I fit in well with other people so I cannot see myself being happy with my social life. I am not sure if I am just being self-centred or if something is actually wrong because I have days when I feel okay.

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Miriam, can't you change your courses/career? I know that when I have something on my mind that ia bothering me, I can't enjoy anything else.
    • Posted

I could but I am already nearly £30,000 in dept with my student loan so I am not sure if I can justify dropping out 
  • Posted

Sounds like a lot of stress is making you feel depressed are you sleeping what other symptoms do you have maybe do a depression quiz online to get an idea if the situation doesnt improve I think you should see your doctor Keep us posted.
  • Posted

Hello Miriam,

Sounds to me like your on a bit of a downer.

If I was you I would go to the doctor asap for at least a chat.