I think i'm depressed but i'm not sure ..

Posted , 2 users are following.

Hi,

For a few months now, I've been contemplating if i'm depressed. I'm a college student and on many days, I will miss college just because i don't feel like leaving the house and facing the world. Other days I'll just stare at my lptop not finding the energy to do anything but feel hopless. My hands tremble a lot - which the doctors said is nothing and I find it difficult to sleep at night; some nights i won't sleep at all.

I also find myself fake laughing and fake being happy around my friends and family. But at home, I'll cry for no reason at all sometimes which makes me feel absolutely ridiculos.

Am I depressed?

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Mmmhhh it sounds very much like it! There are actually simple tests online where you can check what applies to you. But from my experience I'd say: go back to your doctor and tell him/her EXACTLY what you wrote above. They need to know every detail to find the right antidepressant for you and maybe give you a contact for a therapist who can help you find out why you got depressed in the first place and how to prevent you from getting depressed again. 
    • Posted

Thanks for the reply! I'm absolutely terrified of going to the doctor; I've tried talking to my parents about it but they've brushed it off and said it's just stress. I feel like noody wil believe me because i don't HAVE a right to be depressed when others are going through far worse things
    • Posted

Oh dear. Yes that's what I always told myself too. Until I ended up at the ER with an overdose. 

Depression is an illness that is treatable, not something that you make up or decide to have. It's like a broken leg. You would go to the doc if you had a broken leg, wouldnt you?

Everybody has the right to break their leg or to have depression.

Do your parents have to know that you are making an appointment to see your doctor? 

• Posted