I've been depressed for so long it seems normal yet desperate to be normal

Posted , 5 users are following.

So I'm new to this. I never thought I would discuss anything on a forum especially regarding what I think is my depression as I have never discussed this with anyone before.

I am 16 years old and never really had a friend. I suppose it's because I never really fitted in. It's not that I'm socially awkward or people dislike me but I haven't ever wanted one. I never felt the need for a friend nor anyone to talk to. I guess I'm just a loner.

I have had crushes before yet never felt the urge to get to know them. I have forced myself to go to parties or hang out with people but have dreaded every minute of it.

Im not entirely sure when it started but I have been upset for so long it feels abnormal when I'm happy. I have a few problems at home such as my dad being an ass and my mum being miserable all the time but I know that neither of these things are the cause of my depression.

My largest problem however is that I have a lack of caring for things. For example I never cared about what happened in the world or what happened in my future which has caused a huge lack of effort in everything I do especially school work.

Despite my shortage of enthusiasm I do enjoy many things such as reading, writing, drawing, music, guitar... and cutting myself. Like most self harmers I cut myself when I am very upset which happens to be quite often however I do it because I get this strange sensation of excitement that makes me happier. I don't cut my wrists nor anywhere that is easily visible so I usually just cut my chest or thighs.

As I said previously I have never spoken about this and know one in my life has any clue about my problems. Most people just think I'm some sinical, loner kid who thinks he's too cool for everything.

The only real relationship I have ever had with anyone is my mother who happens to be the only person I really care about.