I've been experiencing anxiety for 2 months now

Posted , 3 users are following.

I've been expericing anxiety for two months now and I'm really struggling to deal with it. It started off with just feeing anxious every now and again, but gradually progressed to the point where I'm getting severe chest pains and struggling to concentrate, as well as having panic attacks. I really don't understand where it has come from.

The only other time I have ever experienced anxiety was when I was at university, but it was only very slight and I could understand where it was coming from, as I was really stressed and completely overwhelmed by all the pressure. This anxiety however has just crept up on me and its horrible.  

I eventually went to the doctor who prescribed me with 40mg of propranolol. I found this dose too high, as all I wanted to do was sleep and I was getting really bad headaches. I'm now taking 10mg. Does anyone feel like it is helping them? I'm still getting chest pains, having panic attacks, feeling tired all the time and not being able to sleep. Does anyone have any advice on how to cope.

Thanks. 

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Hi rachael

​Did the dr do any blood tests to check your thyroid gland.

Mind my asking you your age group?

Personally I think you need an MOT to check for physical causes first before being treated for anxiety which may be a sign of a physical condition.

In the meantime try breathing.relaxation techniques and if you feel any worse please contact the out of hours drs or 111.

• Posted

Hi, 

Thanks for your reply. I'm getting blood tests done on the 12th to check for anything physical, as I went to another doctor and they said it may be a sign of a physical condition. I'm 25 and was told it can be quite a common thing.  

Thanks for your advice, I really appreciate it. 

• Posted