Im new to this. Some questions about hyperactive thyroid.

Posted , 8 users are following.

I was recently diagnosed with hyperactive thyroid. My Dr. put me on Metoprolol. My symptoms came on very suddenly. I was rocking my 10 month old in our recliner and had started to get a small headache, not long after that I started feeling really light-headed, dizzy, and nauseous. I checked my BP and it was. 151/101. That's when I decided i probably needed to go to the ER. We spent a while there and my BP kept getting higher and my HR was 132. They did a bunch of blood work to figure out what's going on. A few days later we got my results I was told I had hyperactive thyroid. I am scheduled to see an endocrinologist in July.

I know it's hard to tell what treatment I'll be getting since we don't know the underlying cause but I've read about the different causes and symptoms, and I just wanted to know a little more about what worked for other people with the same illness.

If you have Graves disease how treatable is it and how is it treated?

Can hyperactive thyroid be treated without radioactive iodine?

Can your thyroid go back to normal with taking medicine, or will I have to continue taking medicine forever to keep it in line?

If you are comfortable answering, what caused your hyperactive thyroid?

Sorry for the long story and questions, I just want to know more about this illness and what my treatment options may be. Thank you.

1 like, 14 replies

14 Replies

• Posted

I have emailed you privately as we are not allowed to post links to the Board.
    • Posted