In need of Rectocele repair. Nervous! Need info on surgery options.

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hello. I am new to patient forums. Just reviewing several groups i have found this site to be very positive and helpful. I was diagnosed with pelvic wall prolapse, rectocele, cystocele, with thin perineal wall. History of constipation. Two children, two heard labor/deliveries. The surgeon wants to go in through my abdomen which I am uncomfortable with. Also, he wants to remove a large amount of colon and reattach in order to "pull things up" hence fixing the rectocele. No mesh used. Has anyone had a surgery like this?

Also, He mentioned having a partial hysterectomy at the same time but has not mentioned fixing the cyctocele... any suggestions on whether or not I should suggest it all be done at once?

I would much rather the surgery be done through the vaginally wall but he has just mentioned through the abdomen or rectum. I am so nervous I an tempted to delay what I know is inevitable. I know I need the surgery but I want to make sure I know all of my options and the best one for me. Amy help is greatly appreciated! ! Thank you!

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Apologize for the many typos, lol. I am using my cell phone and using swipe. Proofreading is always a good thing to remember, lol.

• Posted

Hi I fully understand your anxieties and although only having a rectocele PR, it took me 2 years to get it done as I kept cancelling and putting of the inevitable.

My repair was vaginally as I have previously had a full hysterectomy and a colpulsuspension for a bladder prolapse.

My friend did have a similar op to yourself and this was keyhole and included mesh.

My only advice is to make another appt and discuss whether there are different options available to you before you make a decision. But, eventually you will need surgery as gravity can be cruel!