Increased Citalopram dosage.

Posted , 30 users are following.

Hello - newbie here.

I was diagnosed with depression and prescribed 10mg of Citalopram at the end of June. This was after struggling with the disease for almost 8yrs. I had reached rock bottom and needed help.

I had a few side effects; shakiness/tremor, indigestion, constant yawning, but these disappared after a couple of weeks. At about 5 weeks C kicked in - I felt great on my review. However, in the last few weeks I have felt myself slipping backward and visited doc today who has increased the dosage to 20mg.

How did you guys feel when going from 10 to 20mg? Was it noticable side effect wise?? Just wondering if I'll have the same side effects again.

I think initially I was so relieved to have finally done something about my depression, that my relief as well as the low dosage made me feel better initially. But the scratchiness, intolerance and catastrophising of everything has started to kick in again.

Hopefully th increase will kick in before too long.

Thanks for reading

:D

3 likes, 42 replies

42 Replies

Next
  • Posted

I too have been increased from 10 to 20mg and was wondering the same thing.
  • Posted

Well Leesy - I shall be taking my first 20mg tonight - Doc said I may get side effects again - but I guess it is worth it in the long run! I shall post an update.

Hope you get on ok with yours.

• Posted

I started on 20mg and moved up to 30mg without any side effects from the increase. So you might be okay.
  • Posted

I felt a bit anxious yesterday and feeling a bit the same now, hopefully this will just be a short burst and then things will settle again. Fingers crossed!
  • Posted

Thanks Linda

Just proved I needed the increase - cooking kids tea, piece of fish fell out of the freezer onto floor, I screamed and cried.

Horrible to have this feeling back again sad

• Posted