It's 4 weeks now since my knee replacement

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi all I am new to this I had my op on 3rd July I was discharged on 5th July everything seems to be going great guns during the day doing my exercises also getting me knee bending when to see my consultant and physio consultant said see you in four months.

the reason I am on here is to asked if one can help? I am finding night time is bad when I go to bed at first feel great been but I wake up as I get a sharp pain running down my leg I can control pain to  a certain strength but this seems pain is very painful my question is as anyone else had this also what can I do to releave it I await your reply

0 likes, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted

At 4 weeks you can take a pain med before bedtime, that helped me to sleep. I took pain meds until week 12 because of post op complications, but pain control is individual and some need it longer than others. Also icing your knee before bedtime and having ice packs handy in a cooler at night if you need it was helpful for me as I decreased pain meds over time. I wrapped ice packs in cloth napkins and it was just enough to protect my knee.
  • Posted

I agree with Laurel. Take pain meds before bed. Sometimes in that early period (you're still early!), I even needed meds during the night. And I had a Polar Ice machine....what a godsend that was. I used that many times a day. It helped immensely! Before getting out of bed, try doing some stretches....just pointing your toes up, and down.....also sit at the side of the bed with your legs dangling and do the same before putting your feet on the floor. I'm surprised physio said "see you in 4 months". I went twice a week for about 8 or 9 weeks. After that, joined a gym. Hang in there. It will get better. Keep taking your pain meds as needed....especially before doing your exercises.

• Posted