Knee pain

Posted , 7 users are following.

OK, Im new to this so I hope I posted in the correct place! 3 years ago I was in awful pain with my knee, worsened by a climb up Ben Nevis and Zumba! I was in agony and it would lock and swell and give out, got sent fir physio which was useless and an xray twice! Anyway finally saw a great doc and I was in a real bad way,he sent me for an mri he sent me for an op, I think it was an arthroscopic surgery, it was key hole and he had to do both sides, he gave me some weird looking photos of inside after, not sure what they were! Lol I had immediate relief but now the pain is back and I'm so upset, I've recently started running (although it started to hurt again before) can't kneel down again either, do I need this op again? Please help xx

0 likes, 15 replies

Report / Delete

15 Replies

• Posted

I would advise you to go back to your GP. More x-rays will reveal whether you will improve with another arthroscopy or whether you need a replacement. Good luck.
    Report / Delete Reply
  • Posted

Sorry but the worst thing you can do on this knee is to run as it will damage it further. You probably need another MRI to see if you have torn the cartilage or if it is osteoarthritis
    Report / Delete Reply
    • Posted

I would get to an orthoscopic surgeon and get an mri. In the meantime I would avoid weight bearing activities and high impact stuff. You didn't mention age, but would guess you are fairly young which makes a difference on allowable activities as well as surgery option. Start icing the leg in the evening, elevate and rest. Let the surgeon be the decision maker regarding treatment.
      Report / Delete Reply
  • Posted