Lasik/Lasek Surgery Didn't Help

Posted , 3 users are following.

I had been wearing glasses for many years and so was excited when I heard about this new treatment.  Forget if it was lasik or lasek, but anyway they evaluated me and said I was acceptable for it - long-sighted with astigmatism in left eye.

Had the operation up in London and it was great for about 5 years.  Then I needed light reading glasses - okay with that.  But now I find every time I go to Specsavers, I need stronger glasses so am really disappointed after hearing that news.  I DO have early cataracts, but have to wait until they get worse to be treated.  I'm sick of eyes at this point and wonder if there is an eye enhancement operation that is safe?

Why doesn't vision level off and stay somewhat the same when you get older for god's sake?  I'm thinking of my friend who is in her late 60's and simply buys cheap reading glasses - yes I know everyone is different, but I really thought this procedure would work and do so for a lengthy time.

0 likes, 3 replies

3 Replies

• Posted

Usually people's distance prescriptions do stabilize when they are adults. However cataracts can sometimes shift people's prescriptions and require more frequent glass updates, sometimes more than once a year. Sometimes cataracts take many years to develop, though sometimes early cataracts can develop more rapidly. I had a rather atypical case of an early cataract that showed at age 49 and changed vision in that eye rapidly and far larger than typical. Over 3.5 months it added a few diopters of astigmatism, then that astigmatism faded and instead it made the eye much more myopic, over 2.5 years  it went from about -9.5D to -19D before I finally got surgery. A shift of a diopter or few over several years is more common, a change that large and fast is rare. Usually cataracts take many years to develop, and the average surgery patient (in the US at least, last I checked) in in their mid 70s.