Lesions on scalp - need help identifying them!

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hey folks! I'm a current medical student but have yet to receive dermatological training. I'm asking this question on behalf of my brother who came to me with some questions. Planning to get him referred to a dermatologist but wait times are currently 8 months+ and there are no family physicians who sub-specialize in skin conditions available.

He is a 23 y/o male with a history of moderate acne on the face and back (however not similar to chief complaint). No underlying medical conditions, not on any medications, supplements, herbals, etc. Healthy and in shape.

He is presenting with several lesions on his scalp ranging from 0.5 to 2 centimeters in size for the past 7-10 days. The are primarly located on the front and top of his head but noticed a few at the back as well. He describes a mild itch that is intermittent. One lesion was dripping a significant amount of clear liquid (the size of a tear drop) and another appears as a raised skin-coloured lesion on the forehead (no redness, puss, etc. but this one has been present for approximately one month). There are a few others that are less visible due to hair coverage - they are not bleeding but are quite red. He describes that they have a scab-like feeling.

He has not had any recent changes to shampoos, hair products, his skin care regimen, or laundry detergent. No other recent changes to his routine. No recent travel or sick contacts. No known allergies. No smoking or illicit drug use.  Social alcohol consumption. No hair loss or other skin changes noted.

Family history of psoriasis (paternal grandfather) and possibly eczema, but nobody in the family has presented with scalp lesions like these to our knowledge.