Life is so hard and I don’t know what to do!

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hello everyone, I am new to this page and have been looking at it for over a week. I thought I would post because it seems like a very supportive and informative place. Sorry this mite be a long read. I hope I have posted in the category.

I have suffered with anxiety and panic attacks since about 2000. I have panic disorder and generalised anxiety disorder. Sometimes things have been easier and sometimes they have been worse. For several years it was mainly anxiety, panic attacks and health anxiety. However, I do have several phobias as well, the main ones being: emetophobia (fear of vomiting), mysophobia (fear of germs and contamination), medication phobia (fear of side effects). Since 2014 my emetophobia and mysophobia have come out very strongly and taken over my life. My diet is terrible, I hardly eat anything and my selection of food is also not good. So I am probably not getting enough nutrition and am lacking vitamins and minerals. I am also very underweight. Even so, I will say that in a strange way since these two phobias become worse in 2014 my general anxiety and panic attacks seemed to take a back seat and lesson. However, this wasn’t to last because over the last few weeks things have taken a turn for the worst and I am not in a very good way at all.

It started on the 19th April. I was out going for a walk when I had a panic attack. So I came home. Then I went for a walk the next day and the same thing happened again. Since then my heart rate has been raised by about 5-10bpm on average even when sitting down. I’ve felt anxious even at home (my safe place) and it has crippled me. Not only do I have my phobias to deal with. But now also my anxiety has come back strongly too (not that it ever fully went). Then on the 6th May I had an episode that I’d never had before and it really scared me.