Lonely, low & struggling.

Posted , 7 users are following.

This discussion has been locked due to a period of inactivity. Start a new discussion

Hey,

This is my first time posting, not quite sure what to expect.

I was diagnosed with Chiari in April after 12 months of headaches, balance issues and fatigue to name a few. I have seen a neurosurgeon who has decided I need surgery to be done later in the year.

The last couple of weeks, my mood has slipped and I'm struggling with the constant pain, exhaustion and symptoms. I feel really lonely, although I have a good support network, as no one really understands what I'm going through. I'm beginning to hate myself for not being able to do things and be the person I was.

Does anyone have any advice or experiences on how to deal with this?

Thanks

0 likes, 30 replies

30 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hi, I'm pleased you have support, but as you say unless you have this it's hard to understand what and how scary this can be. I had decompression surgery 20 mth ago and I suffered all what your going through for years, it was discovered by my spinal consultant by accident , so it's good your diagnosis has been found at least you know what's causing everything. Accepting it is hard but you have to be positive, some have much better quality of life after surgery. And some it just prevents things getting worse. I still have trouble with slight pressure head aches and dizziness but take med for that. I'm able to work and have good and bad days. The surgery isn't pleasant, you have probably read the posts, and all recovery are different. Not everyone posts good news on here, it's more for support and reassurance, and understanding what your going through. But your not alone and any time you want to talk about your condition, myself and others are here for support hun x
  • Posted

Hi,

I was diagnosed last May after nearly 2 years of symptoms. My GP thought I had MS so I was actually pleased to have Chiari instead!