Low confidence

Posted , 4 users are following.

I am an engineering student.

I study pretty well but never succeed in whatever i do i always face failure.

I took admission in a good college by paying donations.

I scored good marks only in my board exams.

I score good marks in practical and oral exams, i score better than others in oral exams.

But why do i face failure everytime when it comes to big examinations like Final exams, because i score good in class test or such exams. I depress my parents every time. Iam sick of this failure. What can i do. I don't feel worth of doing anything.

I don't even feel the slightest of confidence in any thing i do.

1 like, 3 replies

3 Replies

• Posted

Hi rutuja89142.

I think there could be a few reasons why this is happening:

- You set unreasonable and unattainable standards and you depress yourself if you don't get there

- You're being too harsh on yourself

- You are under too much pressure at the exam that it seems that you can't do it, but you actually can.

I think the last one is the most likely as I am currently waiting for my GCSE results and many teachers/health professionals have told me that exams aren't a proper way to grade a student's ability because they don't have the resources that you would normally have and you are pressurised to do well by teachers/peers/family/society.

I hope this didn't sound too harsh, but I have bad self esteem issues and this is how I tell myself that I'm ok. I too struggle to find confidence, but I have found talking to my mum and my counsellor (when I was finally assigned to her) about this has helped, so maybe you could talk to someone you trust and they might be able to help somehow?

I'm sure that you're fine and I wish all the best for your future

• Posted