Medication Advice

Posted , 9 users are following.

i am 5 months post op of Right TKR. I get stiff and achey constantly. My ankle hurts. I exercise (walk dog for 2 miles), take care of three year old grand daughter and do some substitute teaching  ( I am a retired teacher). At night I have pain when I change positions, from sitting to standing.  I take 500 mug of Naproxen or 800 mg of Ibuprofen. I called my surgeon and found out he has no appointments for the next six weeks.  My six month appointment is end of June so I have to wait until then to address my concerns.

My ankle pain makes walking difficult, yet I continue to do normal activities.  I am not overweight, having lost 40 pounds before my surgery.  Has anyone else had ankle pain?

Advice, please ? I am concerned about the issues related to overuse of NSAID's.

Ellie

0 likes, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

I don't have any problem with my ankle, but understand your concerns over use of NSAIDs. I unfortunately am waiting for TKR on my other knee, still on Naproxen.

Don't know the answer to that one afraid just in the same boat!

All the best, hope you get sorted soon

Marilyn

XX

• Posted

Yes! Stretch(gently) your achilles tendon after getting up. Calf muscle tend to get tight/weak and have some guarding. Just stand on a curb/stair and let the heel drop while keeping body and leg straight. Any step will do and height can be small to bigger as you get better stretch. If you are warmed up, your strech can be bigger. Also start calf exercises when pain gone to strengthen them. Hands on counter and raise up on toes. 10x to start full range, equal balance, dont rush.

2mile walk is fantastic! Great job!

• Posted

Could your ankle pain be varicose veins? I'm a retired teacher, and due to being on my feet all day I have had varicose veins for years. Since my TKRs two years ago MANY new purple veins have appeared around my ankles and REALLY HURT at times! ( They look nasty, too!😲wink