Mirtazapine to Venlafaxine

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi I'm new to this but have found some interesting information on here.

I started mirt 6 months ago. This was at my request as I had heard so many good reports with the drugs effect to battle depression. I changed from Trazadone to mirt as 300mg of Trazadone was giving me chronic headaches. I settled on 45mg of mirt which worked somewhat but I was experiencing at least one week a month of crippling depression. I have also put on 31lb! This is despite goin to the gym daily and sticking to a low carb 1200 cal diet most weeks.

I decided to come off mirt 6 days ago. The original plan was to augment with Venlafaxine (Google- California rocket fuel) however I decided to titrate down the mirt and titrate up the ven. Withdrawals have been nasty; nausea, dizziness, eye twitching, trouble sleeping, hot and cold sweats, headaches, foggy head, cold legs and feet, no appetite, extreme fatigue, but I'm persevering. (Nothing compared to opioids withdrawal). Luckily my mood has not dipped as yet. I also take chlorpromazine 100mg and melatonin 2mg to help me sleep.

Due to dizziness and not eating properly I am finding it difficult to exercise so at the moment I am just doing spinning classes. I figured I'm sat down do can't fall down. I am hoping that the withdrawals will get better with time and that I can lose the belly my partner calls fondly "the cushion". The cushion is massive!

I was wondering if anyone else has switched to Venlafaxine 225mg in a similar manner? How did you find the withdrawals from mirtazapine and how long did it last? Thanks for reading, feel free to post smile

0 likes, 13 replies

13 Replies

• Posted

Hi Lauralol