Mirtazapine withdrawal success stories? Anyone else a victim of doctor abuse?

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hello everyone,

I started taking medication when I was around 15 and am currently on the following:

Cymbalta 60 MG

Clonazepam. 25 MG

Mirtazapine....

I'm 27 now. I began my taper almost two years ago, and successfully made my way down to 1MG from 7.5, which I took for well over five years (after being on 15 MG. So I guess I've been tapering for longer than two years!)

I was lucky to only have six weeks of really bad withdrawal symptoms once I started coming off of 7.5 MG. Nausea, insomnia, depersonalization, irritability, lack of concentration, you know how it goes.

I felt really good after I stopped 1 MG. For about two weeks, I woke up refreshed, had more focus, and more energy in general. I was significantly less irritable.

Then it was too good to be true and I'm pretty sad about it. It feels like I have a mild case of gastroenteritis most days and there's a lot of food I can't eat. I haven't slept through the night in over a month and while I can pretty successfully knock myself out with copious sleep support supplements (Melatonin, Passion Flower, Lemon Balm, Glycine) and OCASSIONALLY upping other meds I take (clonazepam), it's hard for me to tell how well I'm doing because I'm so run down from broken sleep. I usually spend my weekends catching up, so now I'm back in bed too tired to do anything again (which is why I stopped).

It's been a little over a month since I stopped taking Mirtazapine. I'm really hoping for tips to get over this hurdle, and am hoping someone who has successfully stopped this horrible drug might have recommendations.

It's really discouraging to see post after post of people in such bad shape. I was a kid when I let someone put me on a lot of meds I arguably didn't need so many of and at such high doses, but my parents were trying to be good parents and listened to a very script happy doctor.