MUA after TKR??

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi all. Has anyone had MUA after a TKR? I'm almost 5 months post op and I still have limited flexion at 100. Very painful to bend the knee still. I just keep wondering if having MUA would be as painful as it sounds afterwards...? I've watched a video of it and I just can't help but think the patient must wake up in agony! I've had enough agony for 2016! Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks. rolleyes

0 likes, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted

Hi Shan,

I'm afraid I have no experience of MUA.

But I'm sure someone on this forum will be able to help.

Has you doctor or physio commented?

Take care,

Alan

• Posted

Hi Alan. I see my surgeon next month. My physio does massage on the back of my knee to break up scar tissue once a week but it's not helping much. I'd love to hear from someone who has had MUA done so if I DO have to get it done, I can be well informed by a patient....they are totally honest....not like the doctors! redface Thanks for your comments. biggrin

• Posted

Morning!   I had an MUA at 7 weeks post op.  My bend was very poor - 25!   I am now 14wks post op and my bend is at 90 now but this is after loads of physio.   I was told that there was a 10 week window of opportunity after a TKR and that an MUA after this was not worth doing???   I would question this as I think that this is a UK limitation - there does not seem to be the same time limits in the US, Canada or Aus.

The MUA aftermath was not painful - no where near the TKR - I think it was worth doing.   I have huge problems with scar tissue and may have keyhole arthryscopic scar removal but will not know for another 3 months.

Personally I think anything 90 and over is good.   My physio tells me that 120 is still achievable for me but with patience and hardwork!

Good luck

• Posted