My cure

Posted , 5 users are following.

Each time I've contracted recurring cellulitis after I was hospitalised with it 3 years ago I've repeated this self-treatment which hasn't failed me yet. I stop drinking alcohol and carbonated soft drinks (known as soda in some countries and fizzy juice in my native Scotland) altogether and switched to water drinking water only or flavoured green tea. In addition I wash the affected area 2-3 times daily and afterwards apply antiseptic hand gel. Finally the most important thing that I've done is to exercise gradually (I'm a disabled veteran) and actively try to lose weight. Since I was hospitalised with cellulitis I've paid more attention to dark reddening patches on other people at swimming pools and health suites and tentatively enquired as to the cause. The most common factors seem to be poor circulation or lack of exercise or a combination of both. This has led me to believe that the only way for me to combat this condition is to actively train to lose weight and avoid anything that restricts my circulation (I am a reformed smoker) as well as actively avoiding soda and carbonated drinks. So far this has been successful

2 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

thats good sound advice beardy what about massaging as well to keep flow going   trouble here knees  and compression socks which have to be left off when i get it i also take low dose a/bs till told otherwise  but iwant to b a bit more mobile so as to get circulation up

• Posted

The last time I contracted cellulitis it was in my right ankle. I spent the majority of my time wearing crocs and/or at my local swimming pool as I suspect the movement and the chlorine in the water might have helped my recovery. I still take off my socks and change into shorts whenever I get home as I felt that restrictive clothing added to the recovery time
  • Posted