My Tinnitus is Making me Suicidal

Posted , 17 users are following.

This discussion has been locked due to a period of inactivity. Start a new discussion

I play in a band for five years now. One day, I woke up with a small ringing sound in my right ear, it's my first time to experience it my whole life.I have known about an illness called tinnitus, which involves having a noise in the ear that only the affected person can hear. It disappeared after a month and went back after 3 months (a month ago) after taking off my earphones after listening to music. I came across lots of scary stories about tinnitus and how it affects you. I've been becoming so paranoid that it's giving me anxiety, sleep disorders and suicidal thoughts. I tried taking sleeping pills but then I think it's making my condition worse and the ringing just becomes louder (my left ear's hearing the noise as well) and I couldn't concentrate on my daily activities. It makes me become depressed and more anxious every single day. Help! If any of you has the same condition (tinnitus) as mine, how do you manage to cope up everyday? Would it affect me if I decide to workout or hit the gym for some body building activities? Can you recommend any exercises for it? I was advised not to do weight lifting or any strenuous activities, but I want to tone some areas of my body. Noise masking, like white noise during bedtime does not do me any good and just makes me more sleepless. What do you do about this?

1 like, 13 replies

13 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Hi..I have sent years with tinnitus and loss of hearing in my left ear, been to a ENT, dozens of hearing tests, The Doctors say the hearing loss and T comes high fevers I had as an infant.

The T was always there but the intensity would go from mild to extreme and back, but recently it has been on high volume 24-7 it is so loud that it interfers with my heariing and much of the time it actually hurts my ear.