need to quit Citalopram

Posted , 6 users are following.

This discussion has been locked due to a period of inactivity. Start a new discussion

Hi, I'm new to this so please bare with me.

I have been on Citalopram for 6 weeks now, started at 10mg for 1 week then 20 mg for 3 weeks and then silly me asked to go up to 30mg cause if a little is doing good a little more will do better right? rolleyes

I am on it for mild premenopausil symptoms, mostly irritability and some anxiety

I am wondering if quitting cold turkey is an option after being on it for such a short time? (I started with Zoloft at the lowest dose for about 3-4 weeks but side effects were brutal)

The reason I want to go off is that I have gained 10lbs in the last 6 weeks and now my ankles and hands are swollen (can't wear wedding ring at the moment).  I already weighed 255lbs and was trying to diet but yikes!!!

Its a long weekend so I am not able to get in to see my doc until next Friday if I am lucky.

I do still have my pills so I can always go back on if needed but REALLY don't want to.........

TIA

1 like, 19 replies

19 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Ho Donna. I have been on these meds for some 4 months and I must say I have my life back. Not to sure I would just quit taking them cold turkey. Antidepressants are not meds to be playing around with. Look on this site for ur answers. If you come across a lady named Katecog, ask her for advice. She has helped me a great deal with her posts and has helped numerous ppl with their issues. Stick with the plan. Try going for walks. Things will work out. Take care!!!
  • Posted

still too early to consider up the dose

give it at least 12 weeks

don't jump from medication to other , every time u jump u will need more time to wait the result

stuck with one and be pation and u will get ur life back

being happy is more importent then having some weight

• Posted