Nerves are stopping my life. Help

Posted , 5 users are following.

I have been battling panic attacks for 20 years. Up until a few months ago I was ok. I loved my voluntary job but then the new manager took over and he was nasty. After 5 years of being so happy I had to leave because of the atmosphere. I called that job my safety zone but not any more. I did get another job but now am the new girl and feel panicky every morning it is time to do my shift. I've called in sick today.

On top of that my friend who always cheered me up got arrested for fraud and now does not leave her home because she was in the papers. I never knew what she was doing.

I guess the answer is to make new friends and concentrate on my job. But I go to see my psychiatrist last week and she informs me that there are cut backs and I'm being discharged to my GP. Nowadays GPs only have 10 minutes each patient plus you can't get an appointment until 4 or 5 days times.

It feels so much safer to take valium and sleeping pills but you have to wake up again later on so the problem will not go away.

Do any readers have any tips that they do when they wake up and panic about the things they have to deal with each day.

Thank you

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

I feel your troubles and your certainly not alone in how you feel. First off you need to give yourself a lot of praise for being able to sustain your volunteering for such a long period of time, thats a big achievement and shouldn't be underestimated. Its even more impressive that you have bounced back into another role from having to leave a previous one due to a not so nice manager. What is your new role doing? 

Have you ever heard of mindfulness? that may be a good thing to try and get into the routine of doing. Also have you ever had therapy for your panic attacks etc? 

• Posted

Hi dear