New medication

Posted , 9 users are following.

I finally saw the doctor, yesterday, who prescribed me clonidine for anxiety/insomnia.  I'm a mental health professional, so I know this is not the ideal medication for my problem.  She also ran a ton of blood tests, so I should get those back soon.  I'm just concerned for her seemingly lack of knowledge about perimenopause.

0 likes, 11 replies

Report / Delete

11 Replies

• Posted

Jackie, its not surprising reg the doctors lack of knowledge. Even my gyn was not (or appeared not to be) very knowledgeable or interested in listening to my complains about menopausal problems as soon as she heard that I did not have hot flashes. That seems to be the only one that they think is the "main" symptom....all else was like - yeah, you have to deal with it. 

It seems like no one talks about it even though almost every other woman seem to suffer from some symptom or the other, and no one seem to care how much we suffer! 

I wish there was any way one could spread awareness and scream regarding the suffering....

Report / Delete Reply
    • Posted

sad yes to both and a few more! Dont know what to do and how/where to get help. I have started getting tummy issues as well. Again, its not stomach pain or even IBS, but discomfort that goes away after some time. When it appears, I decide, tomorrow I will call the doctors office and book an appointment, but come morning, its gone again, and I dont want to make a big deal about it. And so the cycle continues.

My main issues are odd aches and pains, anxiety, sleeplessness (I am anyway a night owl, but still...) stretched nerves and of late, tummy issues. 

I am a little scared to go the HRT route, and as I am already overweight, dont want to even have the possibility of being even more heavier. Had lots and lots of tests done for heart, blood work, pap smear, ultrasound and even biopsy for cysts, but everything was fine. But still the symptoms and anxiety goes on! sad