New to orlistat, please help!

Posted , 6 users are following.

This discussion has been locked due to a period of inactivity. Start a new discussion

Right so this is my first time on something like this so bare with me here :') 

A few months back I went to the doctors as I wasn't well and my doctor ended up sending me for a blood test as considering going my age and symptoms he wanted to rule out  glandular fever, anyway turns out it was just a virus but the results raised some questions so I had to take some more blood tests a month later and got the results a little over a week ago that unfortunately my liver isn't processing the fats like it should be sad (I admit I am over weight at 91kg and unfortunately I love all the wrong types of food) so my doctor has prescribed orlistat to help lose the weight and help my liver.

This past week though I have been very good food wise and have checked the labels. But unfortunately my doctor and nurse hasn't been very clear on what I can and can't have! (just stating that eat as little fat as possible) exactly how much is too much fat in a day/meal?? 

What are your views on orlistat? On average how much do you all lose per week/month? 

Thanks in advance guys!

Hannah x

0 likes, 15 replies

15 Replies

• Posted

The general rule is not more than 5g fat per 100g food, and not more than 15g in a meal (so maximum 45g fat in a day). This includes all fat, "good" or bad. A lot of us use My Fitness Pal to track what we eat (there are others). I think if you don't have a tablet or smart phone you can use it online. As far as weight loss is concerned, everyone is different but in general I would aim for a steady loss of 1-2 lb a week; sometimes it will be more, sometimes less. Oh - and drink lots and lots of water! I also use Fry Light now instead of oil for a stir fry or for pretend sauté potstoes.
  • Posted

Hi Hannah,