New to this disease and this forum

Posted , 4 users are following.

I was diagnosed with DD about 6 months ago after having a ct scan! I think I have had it for several years without knowing but sure know about it now! Have searched Internet for advice on diet etc but doesn't seem to be much help at all? Dad had it and said he cut out tomatoes and nuts as they seemed to cause a flare up and strangely that seems to be my problem too! Am currently in the midst of a flare up and on antibiotics. Can anyone tell me how long their flare ups last? Mine seem to go on for weeks! I am a wedding photographer and had to do 10 hours in absolute agony on Saturday! Just wish I could stave it off when it begins but no idea how???

0 likes, 21 replies

21 Replies

Next
  • Posted

hi chele59

I was diagnosed with DD two years ago and all the advice I was given at the hospital was don't eat seeds. so, I thought nothing of this disease if that is all the advice I was given.

last week I was told the disease was much worse and the computer generated print out from the hospital showed my sigmoid area to be completely full of swollen diverticula. (if that is the right word).

Still no help apart from eat we wheat bran, two tablespoons per day. so I do.

My consultant said he was very surprised that I wasn't in considerable pain.

Have very little pain just a foul smell in my mouth if I am thirsty and awful nausea in the morning with dizziness.

My doctor was reluctant to take about my swollen gallbladder without telling me why, now I know why, when your gallbladder packs in DD sets in. I went to her surgery and sobbed my heart out in front of her, I felt so embarrassed but with no one else to talk to I need someone. I sobbed and sobbed. I don't know if I can look at her again.