New to this site battling depression

Posted , 10 users are following.

Hello: I have been battling depression for two years on/off( although it's been around many years just milder). I entered into menopause two years ago and had been blaming my depression/anxiety on that and went on hormone therapy.  Two years ago I was hospitalized twice for wanting to die.  Was put on so many antidepressants and none really worked.  I gave up and just continued trying different hormone replacements.  I guess it was easier for me to accept being on a hormone medication rather than being on antidepressants. About eight months ago I tried a new hormone replacement therapy, and my mood and my depression/ anxiety improved substantially. I thought I had found the proper treatment for my depression. But .... The depression, anxiety, and difficulty sleeping has all returned. So this is finally making me realize that I need to really treat this depression and anxiety with medication.  But being someone that is highly anxious, I'm fearful of taking antidepressants for fear of the side effects  and how I just did not do well with them in the past. Having this uncontrollable anxiety makes me feel fearful of everything including taking medication. I fear that I will never be able to find anything that will help me and I am stuck in this doom and gloom life right now. I'm so fearful of everything that I even have difficulty picking up a phone and making an appointment with the psychiatrist. I don't seem to trust psychiatrist because of my past experience with them. I have about five different phone numbers of different psychiatrist and I can't seem to even pick one make an appointment. I would really appreciate somebody stepping forward and giving me their success story about their use of antidepressants and how it's helped them. Thanks

1 like, 16 replies

Report / Delete

16 Replies

• Posted