Newbie, query query query???????

Posted , 8 users are following.

Hi all,

Am starting Orlistat on Monday (anniversary meal saturday so not wanting to spoil it by ending up on the loo!!) and notice from some of the postings that eating salmon seems to be an issue because the drug does not differentiate between good and bad fats. I tend to eat a lot of fish when I am dieting and am wondering if there are any fish that are less likely to give me any nasty side effects?

Also any advice would be greatly appreciated in helping a compulsive eater and depressive change the seriously bad habits of a lifetime!!!! Would love to say goodbye to my lard arse for good.

Bigbird :cry:

0 likes, 13 replies

13 Replies

• Posted

Hi

I am also fairly new to orlistat. Took it for 4 days and noticed quite alot of orange oil. Didn't take it for a week because, same as you, had birthday, anniversary and was going away camping and didn't want to spend all weekend on the loo....

Eventually started it again on Tuesday and can honestly say it hasn't affected me at all so far. Had homemade salmon and cucumber sandwiches with flora spread on wholemeal bread Thursday lunchtime expecting a reaction but nothing. Had frozen roast beef, frozen roast potatoes, two frozen yorkshire's, carrots and peas for tea also expecting a reaction and nothing. Had cathedral city mature cheddar cheese and cucumber sandwiches on white bread today and uncle bens sweet & sour chicken and rice tonight and still nothing.

DON'T KNOW WHETHER I'VE LOST ANY WEIGHT THOUGH.....but so far no reaction.

I'm just going to play it by ear. I'm sure i'll notice if something I eat disagrees with the bluey's but until then i'm not going to panic over eating anything and learn by my mistakes.

Perhaps i'm just lucky or just eating sensibly (which would be a first) without realising it. Back to work next week so it may all change with rising stress levels and snacking again.