On-going period problems, doctors are no help

Posted , 2 users are following.

Hello! This is my first time reaching out to anyone / any forum to talk about this, i’ve just reached a point that i’m not sure what’s going on with my body.

Firstly, i’m 17 years old and most my life i’ve had regular periods since the age of 10. i’ve always had slightly heavier periods (thanks to my family) and that’s never bothered me. I am overweight, not massively but not just slightly, but i’ve been this weight for many years now so I do not think this could be causing my current issues.

Around about November last year, i stopped having a period, absolutely nothing. At first i just passed it off as nothing important, but after two months went by i went to the doctors and they said that it’s probably nothing important and to come back at a later date if i don’t start soon. 

In January, i arranged another appointment because i was still not bleeding and they just said it was likely pcos but still gave me a blood test and an ultra sound. The result came back clear and nothing was wrong, they just let me go with a leaflet on pcos.

Then in February, i had a period and i thought whatever was going on was over with. Until i was faced with the opposite of what i had before. I didn’t stop bleeding. Whether i’d be heavy or light, there’s was something everyday. Luckily my body decided to maybe give me a day to three days of no bleeding when it felt like it, but it was terrible. While i was used to periods, i was not used to bleeding every single day!

However i wasn’t even bleeding how i usually would on a period. Usually i rarely ever passed clots (is that correctly phrased?) except i was now passing clots slightly more frequently and some of them were quite alarming in size (to me anyway). 

Of course i went back to the doctor and they, again, just said it was nothing important but with summer coming up if i wanted to be put on something to stop .