Op finally done

Posted , 7 users are following.

So after getting cancelled last month I had my A and P repair and bladder sling on Monday. Discharged yesterday with catheter with instructions to return to TWOC clinic next Monday. Am taking lactulose which won the battle of constipation from codine at 3am this morning! Despite being a student nurse I have no idea when to take it to have its effects at a more social time. Also felt very uncomfortable afterwards, think sitting on loo for ages aggrevated my ' bit's ' which then made catheter more umcomfortable, oh the joys! Have taken 10 mls of lactulose at 10am, took it at 10 and again evening yesterday but any advice on how often I should take? No real info on bottle and no info on discharge. Thank you muchly from my painkiller induced fog Xx

0 likes, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted

Hello elaine and good to hear you've had your surgery. Lactulose is a bit of trial and error really so if you're having your bowels opened ok just take a dose on a night and see how that helps, if it doesn't increase the dose or take it twice a day.
    • Posted

Was more painful that I thought it would be last night and obviously everything seems worse early hours of morning! Thanks, have taken 10 mls this morning and think things are moving! So difficult to open bowels without straining of any description 😵 also taking the tip from carol about drinking plenty of water. Hopefully will knock codine on head sooner rather than later so won't be such an issue Xx
    • Posted

The surgery is painful elaine so don't be in pain. I know codeine causes constipation but the Lactulose and a stool softener can sort that out. I say this all the time pain hinders recovery and you're a nurse so I'm sure you wouldn't leave a patient in pain would you? Look after yourself. Rest for the next 2 weeks completely and I mean do nothing. Listen to your body.
    • Posted