Pain relief

Posted , 15 users are following.

Good Morning , I am new to this, but at the moment I'm wishing I had never had this done. I had a TKR done on Friday, the epidural and sedation didn't work so had to have a general. The pain relief I got whilst in hospital was good, came home yesterday and all I've got is paracetamol and coedine, which has no effect at all, slept in 20 minute intervals all night. Our dog had her crucial element ligament done about 17 months ago and she was on better pain relief. I am honestly regretting what I have done, sorry for sounding so negative.

0 likes, 38 replies

38 Replies

Prev Next
  • Posted

Hi Diane , I'm now exactly 6 weeks post TKR and still having problems.Walking is getting stronger every day and  I'm still doing pain relief  but not so much nights are the worst I agree .Try a very soft pillow bought one in Next brilliant £7.00 it's so soft this really helps get comfy .

This op is really a time thing 6 weeks then 3 months and then I'm told 1 year for full recovery .I so agree  re pain relief keep the meds going I'm on Solpaldol and Paracetamol ring GP . It's not a quick fix this op my surgeon did warn me painted a black picture and he was so right .!!!! Chris 

• Posted

Thank you all for your replies, I have phoned the doc and he's going to ring me back. Unfortunately I am allergic to ibuprofen, get better looking lips than Mick Jagger, lol, so can't take it. Husband told me off and said I should have texted him, I'm sleeping in the spare room at the moment. Have got my ice pack on, so will be feeling ok soon, just need something stronger for night time. I suppose we are all different, just didn't anticipate the amount of pain. I will pick myself up and give myself a good talking too and then get on with my recovery. Once again, thank you.
  • Posted