Phased return

Posted , 2 users are following.

Hi... I have been given a phased return to work after double bunion surgery, the whole works on  both bunions. I work in a bank and wonder if anyone can  give me some guidance as to what this could look like please. I have been off work full time for just over 8 weeks And I work full time.  Thank you.

1 like, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Hi Paula, I work in a bank as well and had one of my staff off last year with a shoulder op. She had a phased return . Something like 4 hours a day fir 3 days the first week, all day for 4 days the second week, then back to full time the third week. Your line manager should speak to your HR people and they will advise her.
    • Posted

Hi thank you for your reply yes that's helpful. My phased return is for 6 weeks and I think I have been a bit too optimistic with what I thought I could do. Went back today and feet are throbbing I did do 4 hours. Do have quite a bit of a drive and walk to work. Think I need to revisit this. Thank you 
    • Posted

I'm due to have a double op on 23/01/15. My manager made a jokey comment about being wheeled in asap. My consultant said I would have an initial note for 7 weeks and then he would review. Like you I have a long drive to work. After reading numerous posts on this forum I can honestly say I have no intention of returning to work until I feel totally able to. Due to the nature of this op the normal short phase back to work might not be appropriate after only 8 weeks. Talk to your consutant/GP. 

• Posted

I would speak to your gp or surgeon as well as your line manager. You don't want to undo all the good work now. Better to be off until you're 100%.
  • Posted