Please say I'm not the only one?

Posted , 6 users are following.

I'm a university student and the prospect of going home for Christmas makes me feel ridiculously anxious - lump in throat, nausea, shaking, tight chest, belly ache, feel paralysed with anxiety

What makes it worse is that I can't pin point why I'm so anxious. I think it's a combination of:

- Loss of independence

- Feeling trapped in the house and town itself

- Constantly being surrounded by people who I don't think understand how I'm feeling 

- Fear of feeling/being sick, therefore not eating with people and being different

Anyone feel similar or have any tips? I'm going home on Sunday. I feel like I'm just waiting for time to slowly past to January when Christmas is over and I'm back at my university home

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Hi Amy please don't think you're the only one who feels like this! I have lots of your symptoms of anxiety but not for the same reasons. It's stress. Be kind to yourself and try and not stress about your situation. Easier said than done I know! To make it easier for yourself....please yourself! Don't try to please everyone. Float with however you are feeling and tell ur self this too will pass as it surely will! Try and enjoy Christmas. I'm trying my hardest! Good luck . E. 
  • Posted

Hi Amy Just a thought that your primary fear could be the fear of being sick -called emetophobia. There is lots on the net about it . I know someone who suffers in this way Hope you feel better quickly 
  • Posted

Going back to your home town can be terrifying. You are a new person now you moved on. Your family might annoy you. I feel the same when I go back to Cork.
  • Posted

Its hard when you have independance, and going home means parents rules etc. it can be anxious time to leaving boyfriends / girlfriends behind
  • Posted