Problems driving in menopause

Posted , 8 users are following.

Has anyone had driving problems, about 1 year ago I just suddenly lost every bit of confidence I had and started to panic driving on a dual carriageway.

0 likes, 13 replies

13 Replies

• Posted

Hi Angi... about a 1.5 years before my peri symptoms took hold, I was in a bad car accident caused by another driver and had to be taken to the hospital.  I did not have injuries, mainly just lacerations and a lot of soreness, but mentally it was a lot to overcome and I have been a nervous driver ever since.  Peri has just added another layer of anxiety and I do find myself taking deep breaths behind the wheel to calm myself sometimes.
  • Posted

That's how mine began one Thursday morning ,then palpatations .took weeks later and a blood test to be told menopause ,by I might add an old Dr ,none of these young ones (drs ) thought to look at the symptoms being menopause . I was 48 , but felt odd at times from age of 38 . Scary time . Okay for then 10 yrs got an illness virus ,set it all off again symptom wise . I was driving okay after I knew it was meno anxiety doing it .mine hit me at traffic lights both times . why traffic lights ? Mystery even to me today . Never done motorway driving since either . 
  • Posted

oh god yes i even get to places get out the car and take deep breaths then get back in put music on then head for home its horrible isnt it bless you hope it improves for you
  • Posted

Hi angi,

I went on HRT and one of the first silly things I noticed was that I was driving with so much more confidence and less granny dithering than I had been, I said to my husband no one would believe me if I told them that.

I had a lot of memory stuff, awful groping and not finding the right word and trailing off halfway through a sentence forgetting what I was talking about.

My brain loves the estrogen.

• Posted

Hi