Question about tic disorder

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hi,

I'm 22 years old. For 7 years, I have been doing some movements and sounds :

- I'm cracking my knuckles over my chin. Also my wrists and elbows.

- I'm clearing my throat.

- I'm biting my lips and my nails.

- I'm cracking my neck

If I don't do these movements, I can feel tension or stress. I would like to know if tic disorders can cause this and to have people who are sharing the same experience

2 likes, 3 replies

3 Replies

• Posted

The only 2 causes I know for people to act that way are anxiety and depression (I'm not a doctor it could be something else I'm only speaking out of experience) I suggest you join an Anxiety group and ask other people with Anxiety if they have similar symptoms and continue from there.

• Posted

It could be Tourette's Syndrome, although it generally starts a bit younger. I have Tourette's, and I used to have an involuntary throat clearing thing, and now I just clear it a lot (I don't know if it's a tic or not). I bite my nails and my lips a lot too. I crack my fingers. Like the other commenter said though, I guess it could also be anxiety? I don't know much about anxiety leading to that, but I do have generalised anxiety.

• Posted

Hi ! Thanks for your answer !

I just have some questions : are your tics totally involuntary or do you feel some tension ? And are your tics quite frequent or very rare ?

Report or request deletion

Thanks for your help!