scared? need some adviçe.

Posted , 2 users are following.

This discussion has been locked due to a period of inactivity. Start a new discussion

Hi im new to this but ill try to explain the best I can I have symptoms of an overactive thyroid such as weight loss ive dropped from 7 stone 10 to 6st 11 within a few weeks and im 24 and 5ft 4 so im medically classed as underweight now, ive had extreme tiredness where I just feel tired all the time no matter what, ive had diarrhea also and whenever I eat or drink something I get really hot flushes and sweating even when im not ina hot enviroment. I called the doctor about this today and due to me also suffering from panic attacks and agrophobia im unable to leave the house so hes going to send a doctor out to me tomorrow and then talk about getting a nurse to me to test me for an overactive thyroid with blood tests. But im really scared at the same time because ive looked it up and read about thyroid storm and have seen that can lead to heart failure so im scared to even wait until tomorrow to see a doctor I dont know what to do??

0 likes, 11 replies

11 Replies

• Posted

Hi Sammie don't be scared.  If you are worried before you see the doctor and your condition gets worse just call an ambulance. The fact you know what  could be going on they will treat you straight away. Your anxiety will be worse because of the overactive thyroid.  As soon as they diagnose you they will give you medication and you will quickly get back to normal.  Your body has just gone into over drive and it is frightening, really frightening and it gives you panic attacks and makes everything a million times worse.  Make sure you keep hydrated, rest and wait to see the doctor tomorrow.  Don't read the internet post here. Xxx

• Posted