Scary thoughts about inadequacy

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi, has anyone experienced horrible scary thoughts of being inadequate. Difficult to explain. But keep thinking that there is something terribly wrong with me and I will never recover. I see someone on TV and I think.. I should be like them. I should have been a comedian or a presenter or a lobster fisherman or design and build my own house or ... etc. etc. etc. Scary feeling that i have made a bid mistake with my life and made all the wrong decisions about my career. I am an artist, making very little money and am 61. Frightened I will die in poverty and anxiety and depression or I will die screaming in fear. frightened that I have lost touch with my real deeper self. Anxious about evry little decision I make at the moment. Feel desperate for someone else to save me. Want to be looked after. Know I need to think about positives but cant think of anything. Full of cynicism about the world. Dont feel I am able to cope. Crying a lot and anxious all the time but it is the scary thoughts that I cannot stop that are getting to me. I meditate and read books about all this and my buddhist books help but know that this negative thinking is making me worse but cant seem to stop them. Help, anyone. Would be a relief to hear others have the same. Im on Ad's. doc has given me sedative but now feel fuzzy and dizzy which is making me more anxious because I feel like I need to stay in control and worry about any little symptom in my body. Im going for a walk noe because I know that helps. Cant seem to stop thinking about it all so much.

2 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

All classic anxiety I'm afraid, I think therapy would suit you better than meds - it does me. Meds can't resolve these feelings, therapy can. Its a lot of hard work but its worth it
  • Posted

Did the greatest artists not mostly die in poverty with their worth not