Shockwave Therapy for possible PTTD

Posted , 4 users are following.

I have been attending Orthopedics for a few years now.  I always get the feeling he is ignoring my medical history and is  more interested in treating the symptoms of the pain rather than finding the cause.  There is a family history of rheumatoid arthritis, scoliosis, ligament laxity and hypermobility in  my family and I have sprained my ankle numerous times over the years but self treated them using common sense.  I am now 52 years of age and about 3 years ago the pain in the ball of my foot got so bad I finally went to my GP who is amazing.  I was referred to orthopedics who made inserts for shoes but these didn't work.  I have been back 4 times.  I was told I have metatarsalgia and would always have a bone deformity and be in pain so I just accepted this.  However my GP recognised something else and sent  me for an x-ray which showed a dislocation in my toe.  The orthopedic surgeon explained they would have to remove the bone given the deformity and dislocation would likely reoccur without this surgery.  That was a year ago.  Since then the pain has gotten so much worse and my entire foot is so painful I can hardly walk some days.  I have not had any time off work and am constantly on my feet.  I finally went for a private scan which showed I have PTTD and queried sinus tarsi pathology.  I went back to the orthopedic clinic but he ignored this diagnosis and pooh poohed it.  He wants to carry out shockwave treatment.  I am worried this again is to deal with the pain rather than find out exactly what is wrong.  I asked for an MRI and he bluntly said no.  The shockwave treatment is due to start in 4 weeks time.  Should I ask again for an MRI?  Should I stay off work until the shockwave treatment starts?  I am worried that being on my feet all day for the next 4 weeks might do even more damage?  This is really having an effect on my mental health as I do not drive and love walking but am worried t