Should I go back on antidepressents ?

Posted , 2 users are following.

I have been on/off antidepressents for about 10 years and most recently was on Effexor Xl which didnt help my anxiety/depression in any way (made things worse :o) so I had to withdraw which was torture to say the least.

Now on Lyrica which I was put on towards the end of withdrawal and after and the dose has been raised twice, most recently to 150mg a day.

My phychiatrist now wants me to return to antidepressents as suffering really bad with depression, anxiety and panic attacks at present, this time to try a drug called Lustral.

Im over 2 months off the antidepressents now and dont know whether I should give my body to readjust or whether Im not going to get better till I go back on them.

Doc said I have a chemical imbalance and these tabs are something I need?

Im confused, need advice guys

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

It would be helpful if you used drug names not brand names.

Effexor is  venlafaxine (an SNRI) .   Lyrica is pregabalin (an anticonvulsant) .    Lustral is sertraline (an SSRI)

I think after 2 months off venlafaxine your body has  got used to the status quo.  I think you need therapy for the anxiety/depression.   Some people will suggest a talking therapy.  I suggest a medication, but which?

Sertraline acts rather like venlafaxine so may not help you.   You could try mirtazapine - as that acts differently. 

The fact that you have been on/off antidepressants for 10 years makes you  a better judge of what to do than most people on this forum! 

• Posted

The Physchiatrict suggested mirtazapine but said it makes you really heavy which I dont want as am after gaining so much weight already :o

I have always nearly been on ssris and they work for a certain amount of time and then stop working

• Posted

I am surprised you are putting on weight if you are anxious.  I found I lost weight.