Should I Ignore the doctor??

Posted , 2 users are following.

This discussion has been locked due to a period of inactivity. Start a new discussion

I went back to see my doctor after 3weeks on 10mg Citalopram (I couldn't get in any earlier) I am surprised and I must admit a bit disappointed he has prescribed me another 3weeks on the same dose; I read that everyone else has increased to 20mg by week two.

I am confused why he would do that the only thing I can think is he doesn’t believe I am serious, I am not new to depression but I am new to expressing my feelings I hate it, especially to men in authority that I respect, I feel such shame.

Nobody knows I am taking them, that’s how well I can hide my feelings and the side effects- I crumble in private but this obviously doesn’t get me the help I need.

So I have come away feeling lost, I am tempted to double up my dose myself- would it do any harm? I think I need more

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Hello Jinx,

Sorry to hear your having a bad time. I also went back to my Dr this week, as things are not improving very fast!!!

I'm on week 7 of 20mg cit. Tried to go back to work last week, but ended up crying in a return to work interview! not great, and yes I understand the feeling of shame, the meeting was with a manager (male) who I do respect, felt sorry for him really, faced with a blubbering female! :oops:

Anyway, back to the Cit, my Dr also said not to increase my meds (I know from reading posts on here, many go up to 40mg) He listened to me and asked questions, his conclusion was, I am feeling better, am still getting some side effects, and he did not want these to increase. I was quite relieved at his decision. He also recomended a phased return to work.

Have a meeting with work next week! I shall just have to wait to see what happens :?