Sleep anxiety ruining my life. convinced i'll never sleep again.

Posted , 87 users are following.

It's been nine days now since I started having terrible insomnia. I feel my life has been ripped out from under me and I don't know where to turn. It started with one bad nights sleep nearly two weeks ago and now I'm not sleeping for one second during the night. The doctor has prescribed me citalopram for the horrible anxiety I'm experiencing all night. I also have sleeping tablets and Diazepam in the cupboard but I really don't want to take them. My big fear is ill never sleep again. Every one keeps telling me that I'll eventually fall asleep but after another night of absolutely no sleep I've convinced myself that something has happened to me and I WILL never sleep again. I've never used a forum before but I guess I'm kindling kind of reaching out to anyone who has had a similar problem or thought pattern. I have very thing going for me in life with great kids and a good job but it all seems over now as I'm convinced my total lack of sleep will ruin everything.  Is it possible to never sleep again? Someone please help!

17 likes, 94 replies

94 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hi Stephen, 'My big fear is I'll never sleep again' - that is the classic hole that us insomniacs fall down. I know where you are, I've been there and its horrible as you say. I think you're doing the right thing by avoiding sleeping pills if you can. I would recommend a book called The Effortless Sleep Method by Sasha Stephens - you can find it on Amazon. It helps to restore your belief that you can sleep naturally again.
  • Edited