Social Work experiences

Posted , 2 users are following.

Hello, I am a social work student looking to work in healthcare. I am very interested to learn about people's experiences with social workers in the healthcare environment - clinic, dialysis center, hospital. Have you found your interactions with social workers to be beneficial? How so? What have they helped you with? Have there been times where they have not been helpful?  How so? Thank you!

0 likes, 3 replies

3 Replies

• Posted

Hello Christy,

It seems that you have not had a reply for a few days - which is unusual for this site. Perhaps, like me, few people with only health (not family) problems have had any contact with Social Workers. That is why I felt I should answer your query.

I have spent the last 3 years in an out of clinics, dialysis centres and hospitals with kidney conditions ( have been on dialysis 3 years) and other things - heart attacks, breathing problems, anyurisms, orthopaedic problems (severe) and have not seen a single social worker.

Not that I have felt that I desperately needed to see one but there have been times when I needed support with all the things associated with these (multiple) problems. I had no idea who might be there to give such support - perhaps it would have been a social worker. I have two daughters who care very much but have to work full time so I only tell them of problems when I have resolved (or am in the process of resolving) them..

I live alone and fortunately I am mentally well and have been able to manage a lot of illness, pain and distress. My daughters do not tell me how much they worry, but I am sure that they do and would really like to know who they could turn to for any support or advice, Perhaps that would be a social worker - I really do not know..

Good luck wirh your training. I hope you find more satisfaction than stress (or at least - the satisfaction makes the stress bearable)

• Posted