Started Mirtazapine two days ago..l

Posted , 4 users are following.

I've started Mirtazapine 2 days ago for depression and sleep problems, I've never been on meds for depression/insomnia before so I'm very new to it all. I'm dealing with the groggy/always tired feeling as that's to be expected. The only thing is that only 2 DAYS in, I keep crying and having crazy mood swings! I know this isn't related to my normal depression as I never have mood swings and I'm rarely teary. I've already had two meltdowns about stupid things like buying the wrong bread and I just go from 0-100 very quickly. I know this isn't like me but I'm surprised if the meds have kicked in so quickly. Is this normal? Please help! 

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Hey Mirt is one of the antidepressants that work very quickly but it does come with some nasty side effects that do ease as the drug settles into ur system. Like u I cld not sleep and very bad depression. When starting Mirt 30 I had terrible mood swings, anger, terribly tearful, but I got better on this drug before so I stuck with it. I have now recovered fully and enjoying life again. If I'm being honest takes about 3 months to settle. I'm so good now sometimes I forget to take my med but always remember wat wrks for one does not always suit another . So hang in there but if side effects become to bad then back to ur gp. Good luck x
    • Posted

Hi Jacqueline. I'm interested to know if you notice any I'll effects if you miss a dose of mirtazapine. I'm on 30mg mirtazapine with 225mg venlafaxine and I sometimes forget to take 75mg of the venlafaxine with no noticeable effects, but when I tried reducing the mirtazapine marginally, just once or twice a week, I developed distressing withdrawal symptoms. I know everyone is different.
    • Posted