Still on 2 antibiotics after discharge

Posted , 6 users are following.

And eating with these meds is so hard. I just tried some chicken. Noodle soup and it came right back up. It's soup. I guess my stomach couldn't handle the grease. What do you eat during your flare ups?

0 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

Probably the antibiotics that are making you nauseated as much a the divert.  Try just doing liquids for a few days until it settles down.  Broth - gatorade - jello - juice - popsicles.  When that starts staying down, then gradually try one soft food at a time.

• Posted

Hi, Sorry you are so poorly. I am fairly new to all this, and I guess you may be in USA. I am in UK, and we here ‘broth’ is a thick soup with maybe pearl barley in it, so forgive me if my recipe is irrelevant. I too go onto complete liquid diet for sometimes up to a week. The antibiotics give me terrible diarrhoea, so it’s difficult to know when my bowel is better. I have juice, herbal teas, small amounts of probiotic yoghurt, plus a consomme soup which I make myself, (and keep in the freezer).

RECIPE: Two or more  Complete Chicken legs, (skinned), carrots, a leek, celery, spinach or other green veg, a bay leaf, stock cubes, salt and pepper, about six pints of water. Add more of the flavourings if you want during cooking. I simmer it for up to two hours, then strain it through a sieve so it’s completely clear. I freeze it in smaller amounts, and have it three or four times a day when I’m having a flare-up. It’s not TOO bad! Best wishes.

• Posted

Yes I am in the US. I haven't made my own soup but maybe I should try it. It sounds good and these canned soups are so greasy they make me sick.

• Posted