Symptoms of depression ?

Posted , 5 users are following.

Does anybody know if depression can bring about physical symptoms ?

For the past couple of months, I have had a general feeling of being unwell.    I have had severe indigestion, headaches, backache, nausea plus I have lost weight.  Also exhaustion and falling asleep at the drop of a hat.    I am under investigation for stomach problems and fairly recent blood tests were normal.   I do get S.A.D. every year, but I don't get mine until February or March.     I would be interested to hear if anybody else gets physical symptoms.

1 like, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

Hi Aaa. I am no expert or doctor but on my own experience I should say that depression affects your health. I also have constant headaches and stomach/vowels symptoms. Besides that I have more allergies than before and I have been like 3 times this year (throat infections, laryngitis and so on)

And I must say that besided my mental health issues I consider myself quite healthy. I eat very well, excersise 5 times a week, take vitamins...

Hope you feel better soon. I am still fighting.

Hugs

• Posted

Sorry have been ill 3 times. Sorry for my bad spelling, typing through my mobile
    • Posted

Thanks M.    It looks like feeling ill with various complaints is linked to depression.     After all, the mind controls the body, it is said.

Like you, I consider myself to be healthy.  I am a size 8 and exercise sometimes 3 times a week.     I take vitamins as well.

All the best to you as well

• Posted

Hi Angela

I would say 100% yes. I felt much the same as you do now before being diagnosed with depression. I had numerous tests plus endoscopy and the colonoscopy. Tubes/cameras and scans! All normal. Please don't leave things in the hope it will pass. Make a call to your gp asap.

Don't suffer needlessly ♥

God bless x

• Posted