Taking tablets on Blood Test days

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi, I wonder if anyone can give me any advice please. I usually take my 100mg levothyroxine tablet at 7am.  I'm due a blood test and usually this is taken in the morning. Does when I take my tablet effect the test?  If I have a blood test at 8am will I be full of the levothyroxine and so creat a false reading?  Should I take the tablet or delay it until after the test?

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Hi, if I were you I'd call my doctor and ask.. plus i have a question for you how do you feel on that medicine im New to all this and I'm having anxiety attacks on 125 levothyroxine they just lowered it to 100 today I will start that tomorrow?

• Posted

I feel OK. I started on 25mg for two weeks, then moved onto 50mg, 6 months later to 75mg and I've been on 100mg for 12 weeks - this will be my first blood test since being on the higher dose. I FEEL fine.. but the weight I have put on is unbelievable. I think I am one of those people that put weight ON with Levothyroxine so I'm going to see if I can lower my dose if my blood results allows for it.

• Posted

I am on 175mg levothyroxine and I'm told not to take my tablets just before my blood test if that's any help

• Posted

Humm interesting, my doctor told me take to my levo before my test.. the same time I do every morning and not to change anything.  Being we have different answers for you, I would say that it depends on what your doctor wants.
    • Posted

She said to take it.. but I just worried that I would be full of it and it wold distort my results. I think I will take it and see what my results are.  Thank you for your answer.
    • Posted

No.. I don't think it matters.. only because it takes so long to even buil the levo up in our systems.

Report or request deletion

Thanks for your help!